Skip to content

Biscuits

September 6, 2009
tags:

Biscuits

That’s right, the opening recipe here at Southern Transplant is the classic, Southern biscuits. The truth is, I’ve noticed a distinct lack of biscuits throughout the rest of the world this past summer.  It was kind of a rude awakening to go not only to Europe, but to Canada and find a lack of biscuits at restaurants of all kinds (not even at KFC!).

I think the most surprising is the absence of biscuits at fast food restaurants throughout the world.  I understand the cultural heritage of the biscuit is not present outside of the US, and the fact that biscuits are a whole different monster in the UK.  But I think it’s time to take this delicious treat worldwide.

Plans for biscuit marketing notwithstanding, I chose a recipe from seriouseats.com for this foray into biscuit-making.  Truth be told, I have always had a difficult time with biscuits, even though everyone who can make them says things along the lines of, “Don’t be intimidated, they’re really actually very simple.”  These actually turned out pretty well, except I don’t think I squished the butter thin enough. Regardless, they cured my jonesin’ for a little Southern eating.

One Comment leave one →
  1. jim pyles permalink
    September 15, 2009 10:22 am

    Uncle Jim now reading blog. Glad to see you are working on biscuits. I have been doing that for several years now and have waist to show for it. The photos are really good. Check out Jack’s photos of Montana trip.

Leave a Reply

