Skip to content

Strawberry Jam (not canned)

September 18, 2009

Strawberry Jam

Until the recent canning revolution, I never really thought a lot about it. My grandmother canned, my sister cans today and I can remember various family members referring to canning when I was young.  It’s kind of a project/process, but that’s just what you used to do back in the day, and it produces some good food – jellies, jams, green beans, etc. – that can’t be beat if you buy it in the store.  Now that I’ve said all that, the jam I am writing about today wasn’t canned at all.

That’s right, there is another option, the “fresh” strawberry jam, as per CERTO package instructions. I got the idea from Cooking on the Side, which used SURE-JELL. Up here, apparently they don’t have SURE-JELL, but the CERTO package looked like the same exact recipe, so I went ahead. I can only assume that the results are the same as well.

The downside to the “fresh” option is that it doesn’t keep as long, but the upside is that I didn’t have to go through the sterilization or cooking process. Just mashed up the strawberries, added mass amounts of sugar and the pectin. If I get my act together next year, I’ll try out the canning, but for now this jam probably won’t last the three weeks it has in the fridge.

Strawberry Jam (not canned)

  • 2 cups strawberries
  • 4 cups sugar
  • 1 box CERTO fruit pectin
  • 3/4 cup water
  1. Wash and rinse plastic containers (tupperware, whatever you have, doesn’t need to be sterilized, just washed).
  2. Discard stems and mash strawberries (I ended up using a fork because of the lack of gadgets in this kitchen).
  3. Add sugar and stir well, let masticate for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  4. Stir pectin and water together in a small saucepan and bring to a boil, stir constantly. Let boil for one minute, stirring occasionally.
  5. Stir pectin mixture into strawberry mixture, until sugar is dissolved.
  6. Pour into prepared containers. If you are planning on freezing (for 6-8 months), leave room at the top for expansion.
  7. Let stand at room temperature for 24 hours so pectin can set.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

