Skip to content

The Ill-Advised Cookies

September 22, 2009

Bourbon with Bourbon Oatmeal Cookies

Yes, these cookies were ill-advised, and not because they include bourbon.  I had a hankering for something sweet last night, and suddenly beautiful pictures of Bourbon Oatmeal cookies burst across the SeriousEats site at me. That probably had more to do with the hankering than SeriousEats setting me up, to be honest.

Because I have bourbon and oatmeal, I decided to go ahead and make these little beauties.  Of course I would have all the other baking ingredients needed, right? Wrong. I am currently missing about four of the necessary ingredients, but I was already knee-deep in dough when I realized that, so I soldiered on and made some substitutions.

Darned if they didn’t turn out alright, but how could you go wrong with a cookie? Or rather, how could you go wrong with the following ingredients: brown sugar, flour, butter, shortening and bourbon?  I’m pretty sure they bear little resemblance to the recipe I found, but they’re still pretty good.

The original recipe was from Shirley O. Corriher’s BakeWise: The Hows and Whys of Successful Baking, which I found adapted at Houseboat Eats, which is a lovely little site you should check out.You can find the recipe here: Bourbon Oatmeal Cookies. I didn’t have any pecans (scandalous, I know, especially when my family has probably 10 bags back home), and I don’t  have a food processor to process the oats, so I put in some crushed graham crackers for texture.  Let’s be honest, I really wanted some cookies.

Here is my recipe:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup shortening
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp maple syrup
  • 2 Tbsp bourbon (like wine, don’t cook with bourbon you wouldn’t drink)
  • 2 Tbsp milk
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp allspice
  1. Preheat oven to 350°
  2. In a large bowl, beat the butter, sugar and shortening until light and fluffy.  Then beat in the maple syrup, bourbon and milk.
  3. Add the egg and beat until blended.
  4. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and allspice.
  5. Add the flour mixture into butter mixture, by hand or electric mixer. Stir in oats by hand.
  6. Cover a baking sheet with parchment paper, and drop dough by heaping tablespoons onto the sheet.
  7. Bake for 10 minutes, until puffy. Allow to cool for two minutes before transferring to cooling rack.

Bourbon Oatmeal Cookies

As you can see, other things were ill-advised, like the fact that my heaping tablespoons were a little too heaping.  Also, I didn’t have butter-flavored shortening, just shortening. There was also no vanilla in the house (quite shocking, actually).  The good news is that they tasted good and until I told you, who was to know?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

