Skip to content

The Lazy Omelette

September 24, 2009

I suppose that a frittata is not necessarily a lazy omelette.  It probably deserves its own culinary category, but that’s how I feel when I make one. That, and my omelettes always turn out looking deformed by the time I get them onto the plate. So when I don’t feel like practicing my omelette technique, or I want to recall the time I spent in Spain eating delightful tortilla de patatas, I make a frittata.

Frittata

The best part is how easy this is.  You fry up some potatoes, maybe onions and other vegetables, whisk your eggs, add a LOT of olive oil (or it will seem like a lot to some who are fat-phobic), dump your vegetables into the mix and pour into a skillet.

The trickiest part is when you want to cook the other side. It comes down to what you’re comfortable with: putting it into the oven for a bit, or flipping it over. If your skillet’s handle isn’t oven safe, then try out the latter, although you can wrap aluminum foil around the handle and it will be alright.  Or you could just cook it as much as possible, and leave it a little runny on top, which is how the French eat it. As for myself, I go back and forth between the methods, but if I’m flipping it, I will put it on a plate first and then flip back over into the skillet.

I made mine with potatoes, onions, green peppers and spinach, but you can throw in whatever suits your tastes.  And don’t worry, it’s not just for breakfast!

Frittata

Here is my recipe for this one:

  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil, plus 1-2 tablespoons, separated
  • 1-2 waxy potatoes
  • 1 medium onion, sliced thinly
  • 1 pepper, medium chopped
  • handful of spinach, roughly chopped
  • salt and pepper
  • 6-8 eggs
  1. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add potatoes and onions, season with salt and pepper.  Add the green pepper.
  2. Reduce heat and stir occasionally, until the potatoes are tender.
  3. Beat the eggs, adding 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil.  Add the potato mixture, as well as the spinach. Stir until well combined.
  4. Pour into skillet and let cook for 1 minute, until set. Reduce heat to medium-low until well set, about 20 minutes. Be sure to run a spatula around the edges occasionally to separate the skillet and eggs.
  5. Choose your method: place the skillet in the oven on broil for about 5 minutes, until the top is well set and golden; flip the frittata over into the skillet to set for another 5 minutes; let cook up until just set enough, where it won’t slosh around when served.
  6. Slide or flip onto a clean plate and let sit 5 minutes before serving.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

