Skip to content

Blueberry Pancakes

September 28, 2009

I’ve always had trouble with pancakes.  As in, burnt, dense, uncooked, falling apart, architectural wonders (by the way I flipped them over, it was a miracle they stayed together), crispy on the inside, black on the outside, and add a little more dense into the mixture.

Blueberry Pancakes

That’s what I’ve been up against, which is always rather disappointing, because I have one of the best pancake recipes in the entire world. No, it’s not Martha’s or from the Joy of Cooking; it’s my grandmother’s.  When we stayed with Grandmom (myself and my cousins, of which i have many), she always made us pancakes in the shape of animals – mainly rabbits and turtles. Little drops of batter added onto a giant pancake to make little feet, ears and a head.  And the syrup was heavenly, even if a syrup snob would turn up his or her nose at it (it was just pure sugar and maple flavoring – that’s right, flavoring – but what could be better??).

Having those memories always made me a little stressed and irked that I could not for the life of me make a good pancake. Until I read Smitten Kitchen’s Pancake 101 and it changed my breakfast life. You see, I had been stirring the batter until it was completely smooth, and that’s all wrong. I should’ve known from my biscuit escapades that you need the lumps. It’s all about the lumps!!

Blueberry Pancakes

Pancake stack with my trusty laptop in the background.

I was so impressed by this revelation that I tried out Smitten Kitchen’s favorite pancake recipe, which happens to be Martha Stewart’s “Best Buttermilk Pancakes” from her Original Classics Cookbook.  I must say, these are some pretty good pancakes, even if I did end up using frozen berries. Maybe now that I’m an “expert”, I’ll make my Grandmom’s pancakes and put them up here. For now, enjoy Martha’s.

You can find the pancake 101 here: Smitten Kitchen

Blueberry Pancakes

Plenty of “dipping syrup” on the side.

Best Buttermilk Pancakes
Adapted from Martha Stewart’s Original Classics Cookbook & Smitten Kitchen

Makes 9 6-inch pancakes, or 4-5 giant turtle ones

– 2 cups all-purpose flour
– 2 teaspoons backing powder
– 1 teaspoon baking soda
– 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt, half if using table salt
– 3 tablespoons sugar
– 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
– 3 cups buttermilk (or substitution, if you must)
– 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, plus 1 tablespoon extra for brushing griddle
– 1 cup blueberries, fresh or frozen and thawed

  1. Preheat electric griddle to 375°F or place skillet over medium-high heat.  Once the pan is heated, brush with a thin layer of melted butter.
  2. Whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and sugar in a medium bowl.  Add the eggs, buttermilk, and 4 tablespoons of melted butter, and whisk to combine.  There should be small to medium lumps.
  3. Using a ladle or measuring cup, pour 1/2 cup of batter in pools about 2 inches apart, so the pancakes don’t touch.
  4. For blueberry pancakes, sprinkle a handful over a cooking pancake, pressing them in slightly.
  5. When the pancake bubbles up on top and is cooked slightly around the edges, 2-3 minutes, flip over. Cook until golden brown on bottom, 1-2 minutes.
  6. Repeat with remaining batter and serve warm.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

