Skip to content

Dessert Wontons

October 15, 2009

This month, there was a bonus challenge of dessert wontons, again provided by Jaden of the Steamy Kitchen.  The recipe called for a chocolate filling, but we had a choice of whatever we wanted. Since this was my first challenge, I didn’t get too creative and chose chocolate and a mixed berry concotion.

Wontons

At first, I thought these would be hard, but I have made (savory) wontons before, so the practice helped.  I hadn’t fried wontons before, so there was a steep learning curve. The secret is to make sure all the air is out when you seal the wonton, which I just could not do when trying the triangle shape.

Dessert Wonton Fillings

Eventually, I gave up on the triangle shape, because they kept blowing up like the Michelin Man.  The classic egg roll worked a lot better for me, even if they look a bit on the smallish side.

Berry Wontons

The berry mixture I used was fresh raspberries muddled with frozen blueberries that I’d thawed.  The recipe below is for the chocolate wontons. Try them out!

Chocolate Wontons
From: the Steamy Kitchen

Preparation time: 15 minutes + 15 minutes cooking time (for 12 wontons)
Servings: Makes 12 wontons.

Ingredients:

1 large egg
1 tbsp. water
12 wonton wrappers, defrosted (keep wrappers covered with damp towel)
12 pieces or nuggets of chocolate (use any type of chocolate you like)
High-heat oil for frying (i.e., vegetable oil, corn oil)
Confectioners’ sugar (icing sugar) for sprinkling

Directions:

  1. In a small bowl, whisk together the egg and water to make an egg wash.
  2. On a clean, dry surface lay 1 wonton wrapper down with a point toward you, like a diamond.
  3. Place 1 piece of chocolate near the top end of the wrapper.
  4. Brush a very thin layer of the egg wash on the edges of the wrapper.
  5. Fold the bottom corner of the wrapper up to create a triangle and gently press to remove all air from the middle. Press the edges to adhere the sides. Make sure the wrapper is sealed completely.
  6. Repeat with the remaining wrappers and chocolate pieces.
  7. Keep the folded chocolate wontons covered under plastic wrap or a damp paper towel to prevent them from drying.
  8. In a wok or medium pot, pour in 2 inches (5 cm.) of high-heat oil.
  9. Heat the oil to 350º F (180º C) and gently slide a few of the chocolate wontons into the hot oil. Make sure you don’t crowd the chocolate wontons.
  10. Fry the wontons for 1 ½ minutes, then flip over and fry another minute until both sides are golden brown and crisp.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. jim pyles permalink
    October 20, 2009 5:17 am

    Just spent several minutes reading your site. Especially enjoyed the article in Mom’s pancakes.

    I have spent several years trying to duplicate what I remember to be my Grandmother Pyles’ biscuits. They were 1-1/2″ diameter. Light and fluffy, golden brown on top and bottom. This quest has at least partially contributed to my weight gain.

    I have tried various different flours and different shortenings and various different mixing and kneading techniques and never did quite get the ones I remember until this fall.

    I am not sure that this recipe can be consistently repeated as it is probably true that the flour will be inconsistent from week to week even if you stick to the same brand.

    My main problem on cooking is that I don’t have any sense of smell whatsoever (probably due to being run over by tractor years ago and having severe concussion). Lack of sense of smell makes for lack of most sense of taste.

    Anyway, when Jack is at my house (between train hopping jaunts), then I have a good sounding board for my cooking. The good part is that if he doesn’t think that something is good, he tells you the truth.

    Hope to see you this fall.

  2. September 3, 2010 7:19 pm

    hmmm….I can see where the egg roll shape would work better! I have done dessert wontons with banana and nutella with powder sugar on top! They were killer!

Leave a Reply

