Skip to content

Wedding Weekend Fare

October 15, 2009

Last time, we had a serious discussion about Bojangles. Today however, we’ll talk about what I ate the rest of the time I was in North Carolina.  I am not the best at taking pics of food I eat while out, but I did get some pics; I’ll share the best.

Pharmacy Sandwich

First up, we have a pharmacy sandwich.  We were in a small town in North Carolina, and they still have an old fashioned pharmacy.  I know the sandwich is not much to look at – seems like you could make a turkey sandwich like this at home, right? But it was so delicious, I don’t know what they did to make it that way.  This place is such an institution in the town that by 12:15 or so when we got there, they were almost out of turkey and egg salad.

Groom's Cake

Ah yes, the groom’s cake. Now, I live so far North that people up here don’t know the tradition of a groom’s cake, and I guess they haven’t seen Steel Magnolias either, because when I showed them this picture, they just stared at me blankly.  They just did not get the awesomeness of the groom’s cake.  This cake was special because the groom is from Costa Rica (hence the “Pura Vida” and soccer ball), and was lined with white chocolate covered strawberries with all the numbers of the Costa Rican soccer players on them.  It was served at the rehearsal dinner because the wedding cake had multiple flavors already, and was pretty big…

Wedding Cake

…See?  The cake was absolutely divine.  There were three flavors: chocolate, strawberry and lemon.  Of course, I had to go for the chocolate, which had the bonus of chocolate chips.  The frosting was buttercream, not fondant, which made it even more delicious.  And if you’re wondering why there is a big crack in it, it’s because they’d already cut the cake by the time I got this picture off.

NC Fall

I will leave you with a pic of the beautiful North Carolina fall. The leaves were just starting to turn. Too bad I couldn’t be there this weekend, because they are probably in full bloom.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

