Skip to content

Lighter Fare

November 25, 2009
tags:

Even though I’m all the way up here where they have the audacity to celebrate Thanksgiving in the middle of October, I’m going to try to put something Thanksgiving-like.  Because I’m unable to get Thursday off work, however, I will be cooking on Sunday.  That means I have all week to eat light in preparation for the big day.

In trying to eat “lighter” and healthier food, I made some granola to snack on.  I always read stories or recipes about how easy it is to make your own granola and how much cheaper it is than the store-bought stuff.  So while this might not be ultra-organic, all natural, super health conscious, I know exactly what’s in it because I made it myself.  And that means I can customize to my heart’s content.

The recipe I used was adapted from Epicurious’ Extreme Granola, which was the easiest recipe I found. You can add in your favorite ingredients, such as nuts, candies, dried fruit, etc.  Great for an afternoon pick-me-up.

Homemade Granola

Ingredients

– 3/4 cup pecans
– 1/2 cup almonds
–  4 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
– 1 stick unsalted butter
– 1/3 cup maple syrup or honey
– 1/4 teaspoon salt
– 1/2 cup raisins
– 1/2 cup craisins
– 1/3 cup chocolate covered candies or chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375°F.
  2. Line a large shallow baking sheet with foil.  Spread pecans and almonds onto the sheet and back for 8-10 minutes until lightly toasted. Transfer to board and chop. Set aside.
  3. Reduce oven to 300°F.  Melt the butter in the microwave. Stir in maple syrup and salt.
  4. Pour oats into a medium bowl and create a hole in the middle. Pour butter mixture into the hole and mix to coat the oats.
  5. Spread oats into an even layer on the baking sheet and bake for 30 minutes. Let cool (oats will crisp as they cool).
  6. Put oats into a medium bowl, add nuts, fruits and candies. Toss to mix well.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

