Skip to content

Red Velvet Cupcakes

December 5, 2009

That’s right, the finale of my Thanksgiving (American version) was Red Velvet Cupcakes.  We here in the North are well into Red Velvet season, being that it turned cold in October.  I was excited to make this cake, because it is definitely a tradition in the family.

Originally, I was going to make cake and not cupcakes. And despite thinking (up until the day before dinner) that we have round cake pans, we don’t. So I borrowed some (circa 1988) round cake pans and made them. Then I got impatient and tried to get them out of the pan too early. Of course, they fell apart and I had to start over. I was gunshy about those baking pans, so I took a bright idea from Joy the Baker and made cupcakes instead. The result was perfect-portion deliciousness.

This is my grandmother’s recipe, and I have no clue where it came from. The version we have written down disinctly instruct to use no alternative to Swan’s cake flour. Unfortunately, I had to make the swap, but they still turned out well.

Red Velvet Cake (or cupcakes)

1/2 cup butter
1 1/2 cup sugar
2 eggs
2 oz. red food coloring
2 Tbsp cocoa
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp salt
1 cup buttermilk
2 1/4 Swan’s Down cake flour, sifted or measured (I will allow substitutes)
1 Tbsp white vinegar
1 tsp soda

1)  Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease & lightly flour two 9″ baking pans.

2)  Beat together butter & sugar. Add eggs and beat until well mixed.

3) Make a paste of the cocoa & food coloring (you can also add 1tsp of vanilla here if you like).  Add to creamed mixture and mix well. Be sure that all mixture has that red color.

4)  Sift flour with salt. Add to creamed mixture alternatively with buttermilk, beginning and ending with flour.

5) Mix together soda & vinegar in a separate bowl. Add the foam to the batter, until just incorporated.

6) Bake 25- 30 minutes.

I made a cinnamon cream cheese frosting for the cupcakes, from Joy the Baker’s site. It had just the right taste and topped the cupcakes perfectly.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

