Skip to content

Pralines

January 4, 2010

In the words of Paula Deen, “Mmm mmm mmm mmm mmm.” You can place the emphasis for yourself, but the fact is that pralines are one of the South’s best treats. Especially if you’re lucky enough to go to River Street Sweets in Savannah, GA or Market Street Sweets in Charleston, SC.  If anyone I know says they’re going either place, I will automatically put in an order with them. They’re too hard to pass up, especially right after they make them, in the store, and you can try a warm sample that just melts in your mouth. It’s just sugar and pecans, after all.

You can order from River Sweet Streets, of course, but I haven’t gotten to that point yet. Instead, I decided to make some, with the excuse that it’s the holidays, so why not just pile on the calories. January is what the salads are for (of course, I know I’m writing this in January).  I picked Paula Deen’s recipe, because why not go to the expert? She didn’t steer me wrong.

I think the last time I made these, I didn’t have a candy thermometer, but got one on a whim this time because I’ve made these and marshmallows within the past couple of months. That means that I will more than likely use it in the future, or so I justified the purchase to myself.  Anyway, if you use the soft ball method, you don’t have to buy a candy thermometer.

The recipe is Paula Deen’s from the Food Network site, and you can find it here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

