Skip to content

“A Certain Day in May” Pie

May 4, 2010

Technically, “Derby Pie” is trademarked by the good people at Kern’s Kitchen. So Kentucky area establishments have taken to calling this pie all sorts of interesting names. “A certain day in may” and “May Day” pie are a couple of them.

Whatever you call it, this is one good pie. It’s so rich and delectable that it’s definitely a special occasion treat. I’ve only ever had it at Derby time, and that’s probably enough for a year. Otherwise, it might all go straight to my hips (and there are plenty of other things that go straight to my hips.

But a Derby Day treat it is, and fit for the celebration! I’m a little late posting this, but next year, grab your bourbon and some pie to watch the fastest two minutes in sports.

Congrats to SuperSaver for the win! A fitting name for these times, no?

I’d also like to announce that this was a first for me, in that it was the first time I’d made my own pie crust. All my life, practically, I’ve heard about how difficult pie crust is to get just flaky and right. I was lucky enough to scout out an excellent recipe from the Pioneer Woman, here, that turned out pretty well for me. Have you met her? She’s amazing; you should check her out.

Of course, it’s not the prettiest thing I’ve ever seen, but it tasted alright and was flaky. I’m certain that this was beginner’s luck, and that next time it will be all headaches.

My Derby Pie recipe comes from the Examiner, here.  I made three pies, by doubling one recipe and then making an extra later on.  In the first one, I omitted the bourbon because the Canadian’s mother is intolerant of alcohol in any form (I know, it’s sad). I think that might be why the crust didn’t crackle, but the taste was just as good.

Kentucky Derby Pie
from Donna Diegal of the Providence Food Examiner

Ingredients

  • Your favorite pie crust, or a frozen pie crust
  • 1/2 cup butter (1 stick), melted
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 3/4 cup Karo light corn syrup
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1/4 cup bourbon
  • 3/4 cup gourmet chocolate chips
  • 1 1/4 cup toasted pecans or walnuts, shelled and chopped in half if desired

Instructions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  • Roll crust or use a store bought pre-baked pie crust, line a 10-inch deep dish pie pan with the dough, and flute the edges as desired.
  • In a large mixing bowl, on medium speed with whisk attachment, whip butter, sugars, corn syrup, eggs, vanilla and bourbon together until frothy.
  • Remove bowl from mixer, and fold in chocolate chips and pecans or walnuts. Blend well.
  • Pour into prepared pie crust and bake at 350 for 50-60 minutes or until set.
  • Serve warm, or cool completely before serving with whipped cream or a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
  • Yields 8-10 slices.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

