Skip to content

Daring Cooks: Pâté and Bread

June 15, 2010

Our hostesses this month, Evelyne of Cheap Ethnic Eatz, and Valerie of a The Chocolate Bunny, chose delicious pate with freshly baked bread as their June Daring Cook’s challenge! They’ve provided us with 4 different pate recipes to choose from and are allowing us to go wild with our homemade bread choice

So this week I am not such a good daring cook. In fact, my pâté is setting in the fridge as I type, at almost 9pm on the day the challenge is due. It has about another 7 hours to go, so I’m going to have to save the final pictures for tomorrow.  I was, however, able to bake my bread, so that’s a step in the right direction.

But even the bread couldn’t be that simple, because I thought I had plenty of yeast packets at home to make some nice whole-wheat bread. Then I looked in my cupboard and saw that I had about a half packet of old yeast. So I changed up the plan and Googled a “yeast free bread”. The result was pretty good, very simple and is definitely a nice bread in a pinch. I’ve copied the recipe from Recipezaar below.

As for the pâté, I was a bit behind also. I meant to make the chicken liver pâté, just to practice on my skillz. Instead of planning ahead and going to a butcher shop (in my defense, last week and weekend were just plain crazy), I went to the grocery store today. And of course, the grocery store doesn’t have any chicken livers. Gizzards, check. Livers, no. Alas. So I went with the veggie one, which I ended up drooling over as I was making, even though it’s going to take 8 hours to set and I’ve technically missed my deadline.

In the meantime, the recipes are below and I’ve provided some pretty pictures!

Note: For myself, I cut the recipes in half, because I just wanted to put the pate into my large soup cup mold. The original recipes are below.

Tricolor Vegetable Pâté
Yields one 25 by 12,5 cm (10 by 5 inch) terrine or loaf pan

Line your pan with plastic wrap, overlapping sides.

White Bean Layer

2 x 15-ounce / 900 ml cans cannellini (white kidney beans), rinsed, drained thoroughly
1 tbsp / 15 ml fresh lemon juice
1 tbsp / 15 ml olive oil
1 tbsp / 15 ml minced fresh oregano or 1 teaspoon dried
2 garlic cloves, pressed

Mash beans in large bowl. Add lemon juice, olive oil, oregano and garlic and blend until smooth. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Spread bean mixture evenly on bottom of prepared pan.

Red Pepper Layer
7-ounce / 210 ml jar roasted red bell peppers, drained, chopped
3/4 cup / 180 ml crumbled feta cheese (about 4 ounces)

Combine peppers and feta in processor and blend until smooth. Spread pepper mixture evenly over bean layer in prepared dish.

Pesto Layer
2 garlic cloves
1 cup / 240 ml fresh basil leaves
1 cup / 240 ml fresh Italian parsley leaves
1/4 cup / 60 ml toasted pine nuts
3 tbsp / 45 ml olive oil
1/2 cup / 120 ml low-fat ricotta cheese

Mince garlic in processor. Add basil, parsley and pine nuts and mince. With machine running, gradually add oil through feed tube and process until smooth. Mix in ricotta. Spread pesto evenly over red pepper layer.

Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight.

To unmold, invert pâté onto serving platter. Peel off plastic wrap from pâté. Garnish with herb sprigs and serve with sourdough bread slices.

Yeast Free Bread

Ingredients

  • 3 cups whole wheat flour (preferably stone ground)
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups rice milk or water (works with any liquid)
  • 1/4 cup liquid fat (i.e. melted milk free margarine, vegetable oil, olive oil)

Directions

  1. Mix dry ingredients.
  2. Do not sift the flour!
  3. Mix liquids and add to dry.
  4. Stir until there is no more dry flour.
  5. Depending on the humidity of the air where you live you may need a little bit more or less liquid.
  6. The dough should be moist but not sticky.
  7. It may take a few minutes for the flour to fully absorb the liquid, so don’t rush to add liquid or flour to it.
  8. Score lightly the surface in a diamond or X shape to prevent splitting of the crust.
  9. This is a country style bread that should be sliced thick.
  10. It is important not to overwork the dough.
  11. Shape into a ball or an oval, with oiled hands.
  12. Place on clean baking sheet.
  13. Bake for 40 minutes at 400F.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

