Skip to content

Daring Cooks: Nut Butters

July 16, 2010

The July 2010 Daring Cooks’ Challenge was hosted by Margie of More Please and Natashya of Living in the Kitchen with Puppies. They chose to challenge Daring Cooks to make their own nut butter from scratch, and use the nut butter in a recipe. Their sources include Better with Nut Butter by Cooking Light Magazine, Asian Noodles by Nina Simonds, and Food Network online.

I was so excited about this challenge, it’s not even funny. Every morning, I have natural almond butter on top of toast and I love it. It literally never gets old (and it’s way better than my old breakfast standard of whatever sugary cereal was around).

So I made two nut butters: cashew and almond. My almond butter was raw almond butter, because I used almond slivers and didn’t know if putting them into an oven would immediately burn them to a crisp. So it’s not exactly the same as my morning almond butter standby, but I don’t mind it.

The cashew butter was definitely different than the old standby. I crisped them up a bit too much when I was toasting them, and therefore the butter had a stronger flavor. But I liked it, and decided to make cashew sauce for chicken.

With the over-roasting, though, it didn’t turn out exactly like you would imagine cashew sauce, as you can see. It was simple, so I’m not publishing a recipe. Just cashew butter, coconut milk and cayenne.

Oh well, I am definitely making my own nut butter in the future. It was so easy! Also, I might experiment with spices and flavors in the future. Have you ever had the peanut butter from Hell’s Kitchen in Minneapolis (no relation to the tv show)? You should. It’ s a delightful mix of peanut, brown sugar and some spices. If I ever get around to it, I’ll publish that here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

