Skip to content

Jelly Doughnuts

December 18, 2009

Jelly doughnuts, or sufganiyot, are staples of Hanukkah celebrations, in keeping with that whole deep-fried-in-oil theme.  I have had jelly doughnuts before, but never a technical sufganiyot for Hanukkah, so I was excited. My hopes were high until the Canadian’s cousin told me that they weren’t that great. Since they were from a local bakery, I held out hope. Turns out that she was right.

As I took my first bite into a cakey, quite dry jelly doughnut, I couldn’t even finish it. I thought, I can totally make a better jelly doughnut than this. Not to toot my own horn, but the pastry in front of me was not even the right idea. The jelly doughnut, in my mind, should be a yeast doughnut, not anything near a the cakelike doughnut.

So I dredged up a recipe online and got to cooking. They turned out pretty well, not totally professional, but definitely worth the frying.

I took my recipe from the CHOW website, only I substituted powdered sugar for regular sugar when sprinkling at the end.  You can find it here.

No comments yet

Leave a comment